News Details Back to New Home
Lilima, Deep, Namita, Sunita in National team for Asian games
Sportslogon Team July 6th 2018

Bhubaneswar : Odisha once again grab their lion share in the national women hockey team as four of Odisha players named among the 18-member National Women team has been announced by Hockey India on Friday for the 18th Asian Games 2018 to begin in Jakarta on 18 August 2018.

Odisha defender Deep Grace Ekka, Sunita Lakra, mid-fielder Lilima Minz and Namita Toppo are the Odisha players have been selected in the national squad.

All these four Odia players are in the national team to take part in the Vitality Hockey Women's World Cup London 2018, which will begins from July 21.

While India have etched their place as a dominant team at the Asian level with their winning performances at the 9th Women's Asia Cup (winners in 2017) and the Asian Champions Trophy (winners in 2016; runners up in 2018), China ranked No.8 in the world and Korea ranked at No.9 will be a threat to India's campaign for Gold at the Asian Games.

Indian Women's Team: Goalkeepers; Savita (Vice-Captain), Rajani Etimarpu, Defenders: Deep Grace Ekka, Sunita Lakra, Deepika, Gurjit Kaur, Reena Khokhar, Midfielders; Namita Toppo, Lilima Minz, Monika, Udita, Nikki Pradhan, Neha Goyal, Forwards; Rani (Captain), Vandana Katariya, Lalremsiami, Navneet Kaur, Navjot Kaur. .
This news was added and updated on : July 6th 2018
News Photos and Videos
10910_Odia hockey players.jpg