News Details Back to New Home
Birendra, Amit selected in National hockey team for Asian Games
Sportslogon Team July 9th 2018

Bhubaneswar : Two Odia defenders Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas named in the 18-member Indian Men's Hockey Team has been announced by Hockey India on Monday, the team will take part in the 18th Asian Games to begin in Jakarta and Palembang on 18 August 2018.

The Defending Champions, who had beaten Pakistan in the final at the 2014 edition in Incheon Korea to win the Gold where Berendra scored a vital goal in the tie-breaker round.

The team will be Captained by PR Sreejesh. He was recently awarded the Best Goalkeeper of the Tournament at the FIH Hockey Men's Champions Trophy in Breda where India returned home with their second consecutive silver medal. Both the Odia defenders were in the medal winning team.

Midfielder Chinglensana Singh Kangujam has been named as the vice captain for the tournament.

Indian Team: Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh (Captain), Krishan B Pathak, Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar, Birendra Lakra, Surender Kumar, Rupinder Pal Singh, Amit Rohidas, Midfielders: Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (Vice-Captain), Simranjeet Singh, Sardar Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Forwards: S V Sunil, Mandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Dilpreet Singh .
This news was added and updated on : July 9th 2018
News Photos and Videos