News Details Back to New Home
Sunita to get sportslogon sports person of the year award
Sportslogon Team July 10th 2018

Bhubaneswar : Indian women hockey team former captain Sunita Lakra will receive the sports person of the year award on the occasion of 7th Sportslogon Award at Jaydeb Bhawan on July 15.

Similarly, Junior footballers Ranjan Soren and Sunil Soren duo will receive Kumudini Krida Prativa award. While international para-athlete Jayanti Behera , kabaddi coach Krushnakant Panda and judoka Manjulata Das will receive young emerging player of the year, best coach of all time and player of the Bygone Era awards respectively.

Ranjan and Sunil will jointly receive the trophy along with cash award of Rs 10,000 and four other awardees will get the trophy along with cash award of Rs 25,000 each.

The awardees will be felicitated on the seventh anniversary of the sports website of the State has been manged by the Good Samaritan Trust, informed trustee.

Sunita who joined national senior women hockey team in the 2009, after that she never looks back played more then 110 matches for the country. Under her captainship the team bagged silver medal in the Asia Champions Trophy women Hockey.

She also represented the country in the Commonwealth Games , Asian Games in the year 2014 and Olympic Games 2016. Presently she is in the Indian squad for Women Hockey World Cup to be held at London July 21 and Jakarta Asian games to be held in the August 18 will receive the sportslogon sports person of the year award.. The journey of Salia Sahi slum to Bhaichung Bhutia Football Academy is never be a easy road. The slum kids Ranjan and Sunil both the brothers inspired many young footballer of the city as they got selected in the academy. They will get Kumudini Krida Prativa award.

While, Krushnakanta who never had many professional coaching certificate but produced many national level kabaddi players from his village Khanditar and near by areas in Jajpur Districts. He was played kabaddi in national level and started his coaching in the year 1990 will receive the best coach of all time award.

International athlete Jayanti Behera who bagged many national and international medal in the 100,200 and 400 metre sprinting events also took part in the London Para Olympics 2016 will conferred with emerging players of the year award. Former national judo medalists Manjulata Das of Puri will receive the players of bygone Era award.

The five member jury committee comprises of Angul Sukinda Railways CMD Dillip Samantaray, sports journalists Shamikya Pattnaik, sportslogon sub-editor Binaya Bhusan Pattnaik, trustee Nanda Kishor Pattnaik and Tanamya Das were unanimously selected the awardees names. .
This news was added and updated on : July 10th 2018
News Photos and Videos