News Details Back to New Home
CM felicitate Asian Games medalist hockey players
Sportslogon Team September 10th 2018

Bhubaneswar : Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik felicitated Asian Games medalists Odia hockey players here at Secretariat on Monday. Indian hockey women and men teams bagged silver and bronze medals respectively in the Asian Games at Jakarta.

Four Odia women players Lilima Minz, Namita Toppo, Sunita Lakra and Deep Grace Ekka were the part of women’s team received prize cash award of Rs 1 crore each, while Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas of the men’s team bagged bronze medal and received Rs 50 lakh each.

While felicitating the players with cash award CM praised their achievement and congratulated them. The State as well as the Country feel proud of them. Also assured them the State Government will extend all support for future, added CM.

On the occasion, CM also felicitated Biju Patnaik Player of the Year award winners Sunita Lakra and Amit Rohidas as both were not present during the function. The hockey players were click photograph with the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Trophy placed at the Secretariat.

The highest ever cash award has been announced by the Odisha Government for the Asian Games medalists.

Altogether eleven players from Odisha took part in the Asian Games and bagged six silver and two bronze medals. CM announced a total cash award of Rs 8 cores for the players and 20 percentage of award money for the coach.

CM felicitated two more athlete Jauna Murmu and heptathlete Purnima Hemram by giving Rs 7.5 Lakhs each for their participation in the Asian Games.

Earlier Dutee Chand received Cash award of Rs 3 crore for her double silver medal in the women 100 and 200 metre race, while Purnima Hemram finished fourth in the heptathlon event, Jauna Murmu, rowerer Sanjutkta Dong Dong and gymnast Rakesh Patra .
This news was added and updated on : September 10th 2018
News Photos and Videos