News Details Back to New Home
Ayush Pattnaik dominates State Badminton meet
Sportslogon Team September 11th 2018

Bhubaneswar : A 15-year Mayurbhanj district boy Ayush Pattnaik dominated the Odisha State Badminton Championship 2018, by winning Men’s single, Boy’s U-17 and Boy’s U-19 singles tittles at Sahid Nagar Indoor Hall here on Tuesday. He partnering Prajesh Kumar Murmu also bagged the Boy’s U-19 doubles runner up tile.

Ayush defeated K Murli Mohan of Bhubaneswar, Nandish Poddar of Sambalpur and Prajesh Kumar of Mayurbhanj in the Men’s, Boy’s U-17 and Boy’s U-19 singles finals respectively.

I was bit disappointed after the defeat in U-19 doubles final, In the tournament I had won all the matches from the day one, but in the last match of the day in the U-19 doubles final I had suffered defeat from Abhinash Mohanty and Amalan Keshari Garnaik, said Ayush Pattnaik.

I had started playing badminton at the age eight under the guidance of Bibhuti Bhusan Das, who teaches me the basic of badminton. I was participated in the State meet 2013 but lost from the first round. I was State champion in U-15, U-17 age categories in the year 2017

Now I am practicing in the Bhaskar Babu Badminton Academy in Hyderabad, where I had join in the year 2017. I am having a dream to join the Gapichand Badminton Academy in Hyderabad.

In the coming month Odisha will host East Zone U-19 and Senior Badminton Championships here. If I will get a chance to participate under Odisha team, I am hopeful I will bring laurels for my State. Though I am current State champion, but my rankings is not best in the State.

Sruti Swain of Cuttack emerged champion in the Women’s single event by winning over Yashashree Samal. While, Krishnika Birok of Sundargarh claimed both Girl’s U-17 and U-15 tiles. Ishani Sahu of Sambalpur, Yashashree Samal of Bhubaneswar received the girls U-13 and U-19 titles respectively.

Similarly, Jiten Mahanandia of Sambalpur and Abhijit Maharana of Bhubaneswar won the Boy’s U-13 and U-15 title respectively.

Sports and Youth Services Secretary Vishal Deb gave away the prizes as the chief guest of the closing ceremony. .
This news was added and updated on : September 11th 2018
News Photos and Videos