News Details Back to New Home
PSPB teams barges into Senior National TT Championships preqaterfinal
Sportslogon Team January 4th 2019

Bhubaneswar : Defending champion Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSBP) both women and men teams were dominated their opponents in the three league round matches in the inaugural day and barged in the pre-quarterfinals of the 80th edition of the 11Even Sports Senior National Table Tennis Championships at the Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium in Cuttack on Friday.

After the men's group round matches, PSPB, Haryana, RSPB, West Bengal, Gujarat, Tamil Nadu, Maharashtra-A and Delhi emerged group topper in their respective groups and qualified for the pre-quarterfinals.

PSPB men's team started their campaign by thrashing both Maharashtra B, Bihar and Sikkm with an identical 3-0 scores in the group A league matches.

The confident PSPB men team had rested their star icon A. Sharath Kamal and with G. Sathiyan holding the beacon he, Anthony Amalraj and Manav Thakkar the team was guided to notch back to back win in the first two league matches. In the third and final round league match Sharath Kamal played his first match of the championships.

In their first round they thrashed Bihar as Sathiyan won 11-7, 11-4, 11-4 against Yogesh Mathuri to set the ball rolling. Amalraj followed it up with a 11-9, 11-6, 11-4 victory to PSPB 2-0, leaving Manav Thakkar to complete the job. He won 11-3, 11-3, 11-6 against Lekh Raj.

Then they accounted for Maharashtra B, with Sathiyan starting the proceedings against Js Dalvi (11-4, 11-7, 11-9) and Sudhanshu Grover completing it against Tanmay Rane (11-9, 11-9, 11-6). In between Amalraj took a game more to beat Faegan Albuquerque 11-3, 8-11, 11-7, 12-10.

In the last match of the day, Manav opened the account for the PSPB by defeating Ayush Agarwal of Sikkim by 11-5,11-4,11-3. He was followed by his teammates, Achanta Sharath Kamal who scripted his first win of the meet by winning over Monu Agarwal by 11-2,11-1,11-4, while Sudhanshu edged out Sonam Tshering Bhutia by 11-5,11-1,11-5 and guided the team into the pre-quarterfinals.

Similarly, PSPB women team also edeged out Uttarakhand, host Odisha and Meghalaya by 3-0 each in their group-A three eague round matches to confirm their pre-quarterfinal place.

Manika Batra led PSPB’s team defeated Uttarkhand's Vanshika Yadav by 7-11, 6-11, 4-11, while Madhurika Patkar beat Priyana Saha 11-3, 11-8, 11-5 with Archana Kamath downing Jyoti Bharti 11-2, 11-4, 11-3 in the one-sided first round.

In the second league match, Monika again scripted another win by defeating Samartha Prusty 11-7,11-1,11-7. While Mouma Das and Madhurika Patkar win over Mayuri Chatterjee and Poushali Ghatak by 11-3,11-9,11-6 and 11-9, 11-3,11-7 respectively

In the third match PSPB women out played Meghalaya by 3-0, Mouma Das and Archana Kamath and pipped Camelia Diengdoh and Tanushree Das Gupta by 11-6,11-3,11-3 and 11-8,11-8,11-5 respectively, while skipper Monika Batra thrashed V Ch Momin Di Toomi by 11-7,11-7,11-2 and team entered pre-quarterfinals.

Earlier Odisha' women's team win over Meghalaya by 3-1, while the men's team suffered back to back defeat from Haryana and Chandigarh by 0-3 and 2-3. In the last match against Chhattisgarh the host men team scripted a 3-2 solitary win but the team failed to qualify for the knockout rounds.

PSPB’s men squad, comprising Sharath, Sathiyan, Anthony Amalraj, young Manav Thakkar and Sudhanshu Grover, while their women’s team, led by Manika, young Archana Kamath, and veterans Madhurika Patkar and Mouma Das.

Altogether 550 paddlers from across 36 state units are taking part in the men and women team events. However 36 men and 35 women teams has been devided in eight groups to play the league round matches.

Polish your weapon before the war, as like that the women paddler Manika, world No 51 and the only Indian to be among top 100 said " this national championships is a best to test your skills before the 2020 Olympic. While pressing the Odisha Government expressed , it is not only the hockey, the State is promoting verious sports in such a high level that it sets bench mark for other States to follow. I am expecting that the Odisha's sports will flourish in coming days.

Sports and Youth Service Minister Chandra Sarathi Behera inaugurated the meet in presence of Sports and Youth Services Secretary Vishal Kumar Dev, Orisha Table Tennis Association President L N Gupta, senior vice-president Sanjay Singh,former secretary D P Bagchi and Asian Table Tennis Union treasure Dhanraj Choudhary. .
This news was added and updated on : January 4th 2019
News Photos and Videos