News Details Back to New Home
Rajat, Trisha win National archery championships
Sportslogon Team March 14th 2019

Bhubaneswar : Experienced archers defending champion Rajat Chauhan of Rajasthan and Trisha Deb of West Bengal kept their nerves cool to win the compound men and women titles respectively in the NTPC National Archery Championships at Barabati Stadium in Cuttack on Thursday.

Chauhan, a World championships silver medallist, shot close to his best to beat Arjun Kumar, a Services archer representing Uttar Pradesh 145-144 and retain his national title.

Chauhan began the summit clash with three 10s and Arjun returned the favour in the next set. Chauhan managed to grab a thin lead and closed the match with a 10 to win the battle.

In the women's final, 27-year-old Trisha, another Worlds silver medallist, rallied to defeat Madhumita Kumari 144-142 and claim her maiden gold medal.

“Strangely, I never won this title. So, this is a special win,” said Trisha, who joined hands with Sunendu Roy to help Railways bag the mixed team bronze.

Abhishek Verma and Vennam Jyothi Surekha, who topped the rankings, crashed out in the pre-quarterfinals. Verma lost to K. Venkatadri 144-145, while Jyothi came up short against Drishty 139-140.

Results: Compound: Individual:

Men: Final: Rajat Chauhan (Raj) bt Arjun Kumar (UP) 145-144; Third place: Praveen Kumar (UP) bt Sangampreet Singh Bisla (Pun) 146-141.

Women: Final: Trisha Deb (RSPB) bt Madhumita Kumari (Jha) 144-142; Third place: Swati Dudhwal (Raj) bt Nitu Malik (Har) 145-137.

Team: Men: Final: Punjab bt Delhi 232-230; Third place: AIP bt RSPB 231-231 (tie-breaker 30-29).

Women: Final: Madhya Pradesh bt Rajasthan 227-223; Third place: AIP bt Manipur 230-222.

Mixed: Final: Punjab bt Manipur 156-154; Third place: RSPB bt AIP 158-151. .
This news was added and updated on : March 14th 2019
News Photos and Videos
11551_Trisha Deb.jpg