News Details Back to New Home
Kabir double crowns in Odisha open tennis
Sportslogon Team November 12th 2017

Bhubaneswar : Third seeded Kabir Hans become champion by winning over fourth seeded Satirtha Patnaik by 6-2, 6-4 in the men’s singles final and he also bagged the men’s open doubles title of the 11th edition Major Sandeep Mohapatra Memorial Odisha Open Tennis at Bhubaneswar Club Tennis Complex here on Sunday.

Kabir partnering Ajay Nishank edged out Ashutosh Das and Satirtha duo by 6-2, 6-3 to grab the trophy. Earlier, in the semifinals, Kabir eliminated the top seeded Chinmaya Pradhan by 6-3,6-2.

Similarly, Ameek K Batth and Aditya Sathpathy received the mixed doubles trophy by defeating Rutuparna Choudhary and Adarsh Sahoo by 6-2,6-4.

Rajpal Singh and Pravanjan Mallick claimed the senior men’s doubles 45+ category by winning over Paresh Singh and Jhadeswar Das by 8-0. While Nihar Ray and partner BN Pani win the senior men’s doubles 55+ category and Mansingh Ho and GR Das was received the senior men’s doubles 65+ category title.

The men’s champion Kabir was received the trophy along with cash award of Rs 15,000 and runner up become richer by Rs 7,000. Similarly, winning the men’s open doubles trophy Kabir got Rs 8,000 and the runner up team got Rs 4,000.

Nalco CMD T K Chand gave awy the prizes as the chief guest of the closing ceremony in presence of Odisha Tennis Association president Asit Tripathy, secretary Madhusudan Padhi and Khurda District Tennis Association secretary Asit Pradhan. .
This news was added and updated on : November 12th 2017
News Photos and Videos