News Details Back to New Home
CM congratulates Odisha hockey players
Sportslogon Team November 5th 2017

Bhubaneswar : Chief Minister Naveen Pattnaik congratulated the Odisha’s women hockey players for their contribution to make India women team to lift the Women’s Asia Cup 2017 after 13 years and qualify for next year’s Women’s World Cup as Continental Champions at Kakamigahara Kawasaki Stadium in Japan.

CM told “#AsiaCup2017 is sweeter for #Odisha because of the huge contribution of 5 Odia players in national team. You make us proud & inspire all”. Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas Dharmendra Pradhan expressed that “Heartening to see Odia girls Deep Grace Ekka, Namita Toppo, Sunita Lakra & Lilima Minz playing pivotal role in India’s #AsiaCup2017 win”.

The final match ended in 1-1 draw in the stipulated time. India won the match in sudden death round, while they registered 5-4 score in penalty shootout. Odisha player Lilima Minz was also successful converted her penalty strike.

Deep Grace Ekka, Namita Toppo and Sunita Lakra are other Odisha payers were the part of the playing-XI champion team.

It is a sweet double for both Indian Men and Women as they are crowned Asia Cup Champions this year.

Earlier in the champion men team Odisha’s Dipsan Tirkey and Amitrohi Das made a valuable contribution. Now both are in the 35-member national core group camp for the upcoming World Hockey Final League schedule to be held at Kalinga Stadium here from December 1 to 10. .
This news was added and updated on : November 5th 2017
News Photos and Videos