News Details Back to New Home
Ananya, Eshwar double crowns in State TT meet
Sportslogon Team November 25th 2017

Bhubaneswar : Ananya Basak of Khurda and M Eshwar Rao of Cuttack were bagged double titles in the 23rd Nalco Inter District and State Table Tennis Championships, which concluded at TT Academy in Angul on Saturday.

In the junior girls singles final, Ananya defeated Yoshita Jamula (Khurda) 4-0 (11-2, 11-7, 11-1, 11-6) and in women’s singles final, she edged out Poushali Ghatak (AG Odisha) 4-0 (11-5, 11-6, 11-5, 11-6) and captured both the titles.

Similarly, Eshwar won the junior boys singles trophy by defeating Saheel Suman Bhuyan (Cuttack) 4-2 (13-15, 9-11, 11-5, 11-5, 11-7, 11-9) and he also grabbed the youth boy’s singles titles by winning over Kishan Prusty (BBSR) 4-0 (11-6, 15-13, 11-9, 11-5) .

Bikash Singh of Rourkela Steel Plant emerged champion in the men’s singles category by eliminating Mohammed Azhar of East Coast Railway 4-2 (11-5, 11-9, 10-12, 11-3, 12-10). While Joseph Benedicto of Khurda was become champion of the veteran men’s singles by beating D Gope of Nalco, Damanjodi by 3-0.

Swetapadma Dalai of Bhubaneswar was bagged the cadet girls singles tile, while Soumyajyoti Das of Cuttack claimed the runner up trophy by the end of round robin league.

Similarly, Ayan Mustak Khan of Cuttack, Swetapadma Dalai of Bhubaneswar and Saheel Suman Bhuyan were won the cadet boys, sub-junior boys and girls titles respectively.

Odisha Police North Central Range DIG Yatindra Koyal was gave away the prizes as the chief guest of the closing ceremony in presence of Angul Superintendent of Police Brijesh Kumar Rai and Odisha State Table Tennis Association secretary Rabindra Kumar Parida and District Sports Officer Mahendra Kumar Sahoo.

Jeevan Ballav Samal, Bijon Das Mohapatra, Sujit Ray, KSN Murty, Tapan Kha, M. Chinna Rao and Kallol Ganguly were the officials who conducted the tournament. .
This news was added and updated on : November 25th 2017
News Photos and Videos