News Details Back to New Home
CM unveils the Hockey World Cup 2018 logo
Sportslogon Team November 29th 2017

Bhubaneswar : Chief Minister Naveen Pattnaik has been unveiled the logo and inaugurated the countdown clock of Odisha Hockey World Cup 2018 here on Wednesday. The mega event will be held on 28 November to 16 December 2018.

The Odisha is become the preferred destination for many international sporting events. In the past the State was successful hosted the 22nd Asian Athletic Championships, Champions Trophy Hockey events here, said Naveen Pattnaik.

He also wished to good luck to the players who were reached here to take part in the Odisha Hockey World League Final to be begin at Kalinga Stadium from December 1 to 10, said Pattnaik while facilitating 59 players of the State for their outstanding sports performance.

On the occasion, 59 sportsperson were received total cash award of Rs 76,75,000. In this year Indian hockey team won both women and men Asian Hockey Championship trophies. Odisha’s women hockey players Deep Grace Ekka, Lilima Minz, Namita Toppo, Sunita Lakra and Rashmita Minz were the member of the winning team, similarly Dipsan Tirkey and Amit Rohidas both were the part of the men’s team. They all received cash award of Rs 7.5 lakh each.

At the time of Asian Championships Olly was got lot of appreciation from athletes as well from different countries. The State Government has finalised that Olly to be the mascot for all the international events to be held in the State.

It may be mentioned that the Olly turtle depicts the Olive Ridley turtles as Odisha’s Gahirmatha beach is a prime mass nesting site for the species. .
This news was added and updated on : November 29th 2017
News Photos and Videos