News Details Back to New Home
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Odisha beat Tripura by 72 runs
Sportslogon Team January 12th 2018

Bhubaneswar : A quickfire 28-ball 55 by Govinda Poddar and a four-wicket haul by simmer Suryakant Pradhan guided Odisha to notch their second victory in a row by winning over Tripura by 72-run in their third match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy East Zone T-20 League at JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi on Friday. Odisha lost to Bengal by seven wickets in their inaugural match and then beat Assam by 51 runs.

Electing to bat, Odisha mustered a healthy total of 179 for six and then bowled out Tripura for 107. Opener Rajesh Dhuper and captain Anurag Sarangi gave Odisha a brilliant start putting on 53 runs for the opening wicket. While, Poddar and Subhranshu Senapati cemented the innings, stitching together 67 runs for the third wicket.

Poddar’s 55 runs studded with four boundaries and four sixes. Dhuper was the second highest scorer with a 34-ball 42, while Senapati contributed 30 runs.

Chasing a stiff target, Tripura found aggressive pacer Suryakant Pradhan too hot to handle and failed to recover after losing four wickets for 17 runs.

Brief Score; Odisha 179/6 in 20 overs (Rajesh Dupar 42, Subhranshu Senapati 30, Govinda Poddar 55, S Majumdar 2/24) beat Tripura 107/10 in 17.2 overs (MB Mura Singh 23, Gurindar Singh 39; Surayakant Pradhan 4/24) by 72 runs. .
This news was added and updated on : January 12th 2018
News Photos and Videos