News Details Back to New Home
Utkal Open Tennis:Ansu, Rutuparna wins
Sportslogon Team January 7th 2018

Bhubaneswar : Defending champion Rutuparna Choudharay bagged the womens single title third time in a row by defeating Ameek Kiran Batth by 6-0,6-2 in the 5th Utkal Open Tennis Championship, which concluded at Kalinga Stadium here on Sunday

. Similarly top seeded Ansu Kumar Bhuyan emerged champion of the men’s event by winning over Chinmay Pradhan by 6-4, 7-6 (3). While Kabir Hans and Ajay Kumar Nishank bagged the doubles trophy by winning over Ansu Kumar Bhuyan and Satirtha Pattnaik 5-7s,7-6 (3),(10-7).

Sohini Sanjan Mohanty and Alina Sayab won the girls U-14 singles champion and runner up trophy respectively. Similarly, Rabi Narayan Sahoo and Yashraj Nayak received the U-14 boys singles champion and runner up title respectively.

In the senior 40+ doubles title was claimed by Saswat Jena and Himadri Kanungo. Gangadhar Lenka and Jiadeswar Das got the veteran 50+ doubles champion trophy and Prabhat Kumar Bakshi and Jugananda Pattnaik in veteran 60+ doubles.

Ansu and Rutupuarna received a cash award of Rs 10,000. Over 400 players were took part in the three day meet which featured a total cash award of Rs 2.9 lakhs.

IFS Hari Sankar Upadhya gave away the prizes in presence of IFS Debi Dutta Biswal. .
This news was added and updated on : January 7th 2018
News Photos and Videos