News Details Back to New Home
Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Bengal beat Odisha by 7 wickets
Sportslogon Team January 8th 2018

Bhubaneswar : Magnificent knock of 90 by wicketkeeper-batsman Rajesh Dhuper went in vain as Odisha suffered defeat from Bengal by seven wickets in their opening match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy East Zone T20 League at JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi on Monday.

Electing to bat, Odisha mustered a competitive total of 157 for five in the stipulated 20 overs.

But Bengal comfortably overhauled the target with eight balls to spare, thanks to a half-century each by their openers Shreevats Goswami 52-ball 79 and Vivek Singh 43-ball 64 . The duo made the target easy with a partnership of 134 runs for the opening wicket.

Earlier, Dhuper and captain Anurag Sarangi gave Odisha a decent start, putting on 56 runs for the opening wicket. But no batsman except Dhuper could stay long at the wicket for a sizeable knock. Dhuper impressed one and all with his 64-ball defiant knock, which included eight boundaries and two sixes.

Brief Score: Odisha 157/5 in 20 overs (Rajesh Dupar 90, Anurag Sarangi 23; Writtick Chatterjee 2/25, Manoj Tiwary 2/23) lost to Bengal 158/3 in 18.4 overs (Shreevats Goswami 79, Vivek Singh 64) by 7 wickets. .
This news was added and updated on : January 8th 2018
News Photos and Videos