News Details Back to New Home
East Zone IA & AD Cricket: Odisha to meet Bengal in final
Sportslogon Team January 9th 2018

Bhubaneswar : Defending champion West Bengal will meet host Odisha in the final of the East Zone IA & AD Cricket Tournament at KIIT Ground on Wednesday.

The brilliant all-round performance by Biplab Samantaray guided Odisha into the final by winning over Assam by seven wickets.

Winning the toss Odisha Account and General (AG) team elected to field first, Assam was bowled out 225 in allotted 40 overs, with Sujaya Tarfdar and Subhrajit Saho scored 53 and 50 runs respectively. Biplab and Basant Mohanty was the most successful bowlers for Odisha, picking three wickets each.

In replay, P R Sinha and Biplab Samantaray of the host team scored 65 and 46 runs respectively and guided the team to reach the winning target for the loss of seven wickets.

In another semifinal match, Sitamaya Basu unbeaten 65 runs helped Bengal team to beat Bihar by nine wickets. Batting first Bihar was allout for 94 in 29.2 overs.

Basu’s 65 run innings studded with eight boundaries and six sixes and powered the Bengal to reach the victory target in 8.2 overs for the loss of a wicket. As like last edition, Bengal will cross swords with Odisha.

Brief score: Assam 225/10 in 40 overs (Sujaya Tarfdar 53, Subhrajit Saho 50, Gokul Sharma 34; Basant Mohanty 3 wickets, Biplab Samantaray 3 wickets) lost to Odisha 226/7 ( P R Sinha 65, Biplab Samantaray 46, Sujaya 2 wickets) by 7 wickets.

Bihar 94/10 in 29.2 overs (Sachin Prasad 22, Ashwini Kumar 25; Diwan Rehman 2 wickets) lost West Bengal 95/1 in 8.2 overs (Sitamaya Basu 65 n;o, Abhisek Pradhan 22) by 9 wickets. .
This news was added and updated on : January 10th 2018
News Photos and Videos