News Details Back to New Home
East Zone IA & AD Cricket: Begal win the title
Sportslogon Team January 10th 2018

Bhubaneswar : Defending champion West Bengal retained the title by defeating host Odisha by 59 runs in the final of the East Zone IA & AD Cricket Tournament, which concluded at KIIT Ground on Wednesday.

Being invited to bat first West Bengal was scored a massive 277 for eight in 35 overs. Abhisek Rehman smashed 77 runs which studded with three sixes and eight boundaries, while Ritam Poral and Prasanjit Das joined the run fllow by contributing 49 and 24 runs respectively.

In reply, Odisha got the early set back by losings opener P Jayachandra in the second over without scoring a run. Skipper Biplab Samantaray scored 61 runs and created hope for the team but Odisha was bowled for 218 in 34.1 overs. Biplab adjudged as the player of the tournament. Both the teams qualified for the All India IA & AD Cricket Tournament to be held at Nagpur.

Brief Score: West Bengal 277/8 in 35 overs (Abhisek Rehman 77, Ritam Porel 49; Basant Mohanty 2 wickets ) beat Odisha 218/10 in 34.1 over (Gobinda Poddar 29, Biplab Samantaray 62, Aravinda Singh 29) by 59 runs. .
This news was added and updated on : January 10th 2018
News Photos and Videos