News Details Back to New Home
PSPB retains solo leadership in National Team chess
Sportslogon Team February 11th 2018

Bhubaneswar : It was a neck to neck competition on the beginning of the fourth round, Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB) continued their winning race, similarly the PSPB men team maintained their dominancy by registering double win in the day to retain their solo leadership in both the section of the National Team Chess Championships at KIIT University here on Sunday.

PSPB women team got past second-seeded Air India 3-1 with local IM Padmini Rout and IM Nisha Mohota contributing the winning margin in the lower boards.

In the top two boards, Petroleum women, IM Eesha Karavade and WGM Soumya Swaminathan forced to share points with Tania Sachdev and Bhakti Kulkarni respectively in team score read as 1-1.

Once again local favorite Padmini crushed Vijayalakshmi Subbaraman to notch her hat-trick win in the tournament. While Nisha win over Meenakshi Subbaraman and the team scripted a convincing win.

The third seeded Airport Authority of India and sixth seeded Life Insurance Corporation win over fourth seeded Tamil Nadu and ninth seeded Odisha MCF 5 respectively by 3-1 each and placed in the second place with three points each.

Odisha KIIT team scraped past Karnataka team by 4-0, to share the third place with four other teams by gathering two points each.

PSPB men team pipped Railways Sports Promotion Board (RSPB)-B and RSPB-A teams in the fifth and sixth rounds by 3.5-0.5 and 3-1 respectively.

GM Suray Shekhar Ganguly and GM Adhiban B were set the platform for the PSPB men team by winning their respective top two board matches in fifth and sixth rounds.

Second seeded Airport Authority of India and sixth Life Insurance Corporation were placed in the second place by winning over Bengal Chess-A and Odisha-A teams by 4-0 and 3.5-0.5 respectively. .
This news was added and updated on : February 11th 2018
News Photos and Videos