News Details Back to New Home
Ravenshaw Varsity lifts SOA Premier League Title
Sportslogon Team February 13th 2018

Bhubaneswar : Ravenshaw University outplayed hosts SOA University by 59 runs in the final to win the SOA Premier League (SPL) title at the SOA Stadium here on Tuesday.

Electing to bat after winning the toss, Ravenshaw piled up 178 for five wickets in the allotted 20 overs with consistent Liladhar Pradhan (75) standing out with a flawless batting display. Pradhan hit four fours and seven sixes. He was aided by skipper Nirnimesh Jena who made 46 that included four boundaries and a six.

The SOA bowlers could not resist the Ravenshaw onslaught with the exception of left arm spinner Pritish Sahoo who conceded only 11 runs from his four overs. Farhan Shaikh (2/26) was the most successful SOA bowler.

SOA began the chase tentatively and kept losing wickets at regular intervals as they fell behind in the run chase and could manage to make 119 for eight in the allotted 20 overs. Chandan Kumar (23) and Ankush Mohanty (15) were the main run makers for the hosts.

Sushil Barik (3/33) and Biprav Moharana (2/23) claimed the most wickets for Ravenshaw. Liladhar Pradhan, who won the man of the match award, was also adjudged the man of the tournament and best batsman. The winners won a purse of Rs. 1 lakh while the runner up were took away Rs. 50,000.

Before the match began, former Odisha Ranji skipper and stylish batsman Rashmi Ranjan Parida was introduced to the players of both teams. He was also felicitated on the occasion. SOA’s Dean (Research), Prof. P.K.Nanda gave away the prizes after the match.

Brief Scores: Ravenshaw University 178/5 in 20 overs (Liladhar Pradhan 75, Nirnimesh Jena 46, Farhan Shaikh 2/26) defeated SOA 119 for eight in 20 overs (Chandan Kumar 23, Ankush Mohanty 15, Sushil Barik 3/33, Biprav Moharana 2/23) by 59 runs. .
This news was added and updated on : February 13th 2018
News Photos and Videos