News Details Back to New Home
Odisha’s 4 players to join national hockey camp
Sportslogon Team February 9th 2018

Bhubaneswar : As this is the crucial year for the men’s hockey team with major events lined up, the Hockey India on Friday named a 33-member core group to join the National Camp at Sports Authority of India, Bengaluru from February 11.

Among the squad Odisha’s four hockey players Birendra Lakra, Amit Rohidas, Dipsan Tirkey, Nilam and Sanjeep Xess has been selected.

The year will start with prestigious 27th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup 2018 between March 3 to March 10 followed by the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games starting on April 4.

At the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, the team will play World. No 1 Australia, World No.2 Argentina as well as England, who are grouped with India at the Gold Coast Commonwealth Games.

While the Asian Games in August will be a litmus test where the team needs to defend their Gold medal in order to qualify for the 2020 Olympic Games and retain the status of being Asia No.1.

The year 2018 will also see the team play against top nations at the FIH Champions Trophy in Breda, Netherlands and at much-awaited Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018 starting in November.

Team: Core Group: Goalkeepers; Akash Anil Chikte, Suraj Karkera, P.R. Sreejesh, Krishan B Pathak, Defenders; Harmanpreet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Dipsan Tirkey, Varun Kumar, Rupinderpal Singh, Birendra Lakra, Surender Kumar, Gurinder Singh, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Sardar Singh, Midfielders; Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh, S.K. Uthappa, Sumit, Kothajit Singh, Satbir Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Simranjeet Singh, Harjeet Singh, Forwards; SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Lalit Upadhyay, Gurjant Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Armaan Qureshi, Affan Yousuf, Talwinder Singh, Sumit Kumar. .
This news was added and updated on : February 9th 2018
News Photos and Videos