News Details Back to New Home
KIIT eves draw with defending champ in National Team Chess
Sportslogon Team February 9th 2018

Bhubaneswar : Petroleum Sports Promotion Board, Railway Sports Promotion Board, Railway Sports Promotion Board - A and Air India teams gathered three points each by the end of third rounds and jointly shared the top place in the 38th National Team Championship at KIIT University here on Friday.

While in the women category Petroleum Sports Promotion Board and Airport Authority of India jointly placed in the top with two points each by the end of second round.

In the second round KIIT Women team caused a upset of the day by forcing the defending champion and second seed the AIR India Team to shared the points with 2-2 score.

The Kiit women team comprises of Woman Fide Master Saina Salonika, Smaraki Mohanty, Candidate Master Aparajita Gochhikar (Captain), Sribinda Rout and Namita Hansdah.

In the second round, Salonika edged out five times National Champion IM Vijaylaxmi S, while Smaraki win over WGM Bhakti Kulkarni which was the point gaining achievement of the team.

In open category, KIIT Team defeated Defence Accounts Sports Control Board with 3-1 score, while Odisha-A pipped Gujarat with 2.5-1.5 score. Other two local teams, Odisha MCF-2, Odisha MCF-3 and Odisha MCF-4 teams won the match against Himanchal Pradesh, Maharashtra and Haryana by 3-1, 2.5-1.5 and 3.5-0.5 score respectively. .
This news was added and updated on : February 9th 2018
News Photos and Videos