News Details Back to New Home
PSPB solo leader in National Team Chess Championships
Sportslogon Team February 10th 2018

Bhubaneswar : Overnight joint leader Petroleum Sports Promotion Board (PSPB) become the solo leader after the end of fourth rounds by gathering four points in the open category of the 38th National Team Chess Championships at KIIT University here on Saturday. Nine other teams including host Odisha KIIT team jointly placed in the second place with three points each.

In the fourth round, PSPB edged out Air India by 3-1. Air India team got a positive start in the morning, while GM Srinath Narayanan and IM Swayams Mishra forced the PSPB GM Surya Shekhar Ganguly and GM Adhiban B to share the points in their respective matches and the score bord read as 1-1.

PSPB team bounced back in the third and fourth matches, as GM Gopal GN and GM Murli Karthikeyan scripted outright win against GM Tejas Bakre and IM Swayangus Satyapragyan and the score card read as 3-1 win in favour of PSPB. In the fifth round on Sunday PSPB will meet Railway Sports Promotion Board -B team.

Similarly, overnight joint leader PSPB women team edged out Airport Authority of India (AAI) by 2.5-1.5 score and become solo leader with three points by the end of the third round in the 16th National Team Championship for Women in the same venue.

PSPB players IM Padmini Rout and IM Eesha Karavade edged out WIM Panali S Dharia and WFM Varshini V respectively. While WGM Mary Ann Gomes suffered defeated for WIM Seshadri Srija and WGM Soumya Swaminath draw with Sakshi Chitlange.

Air India, Life Insurance Corporation, Airport Authority of India, Tamil Nadu and Odisha-MCF-5 team were in the second place with two points each. .
This news was added and updated on : February 10th 2018
News Photos and Videos