News Details Back to New Home
Arjun Kadhe lifts ITF F1 Futures tennis trophies
Sportslogon Team March 3rd 2018

Bhubaneswar : Third seeded Arjun Kadhe, currently ranked at 525 in the world, lifts the men's singles title of the OTA ITF F1 Futures 2018, which concluded at the Kalinga Stadium Tennis Complex here on Saturday.

24 year old, Kadhe took about 1 hr and 44 mins to tame fourth seeded N Vijay Sundar Prashant by a straight 6-3,6-2 in a one-sided title clash, where the former got richer by 18 world ranking points.

Siddharth Rawat though satisfied himself by winning the doubles title, partnering Manish Sureshkumar, by an easy 6-3,6-2 against top seeded Arjun Kadhe and N Vijay Sundar Prashant on Friday.

Earlier in the men’s single semifinals, Vijay Sundar was mesmerized the spectators as he showed 2nd seeded Siddharth Rawat the door in a long 2 hr 47 mins marathon by 6-3, 6-7(3), 7-6(5) to enter the final. While, Arjun was stretched by unseeded Patrik Rikl to a 1 hr 51 mins battle where the former won by a close 7-6(6),4-6,6-4 to conform the final berth.

I am happy to get my second singles title, Last one I was got it in year 2017 at Vietnam. This is well organised tournament, last one week I played matches in different courts here. The infrastructure is fabulous, the organiser is having all potential to host Devis Cup, said Pune city boy Arjun.

Obviously I was disappointed regarding my performance in the final round. It was very close to me, but my doubles partner Arjun played better than me to won the title, said Vijay.

Many a times Odisha had been surprised the nation by its tremendous organising capacity. We had conducted the international tournament here to provide platform for the national as well as the local players to gain world ranking points. By hosting the tournament we are confident that we can also host world class tennis tournament here, said Odisha Tennis Association President Asit Tripathy.

Sports and Youth Services Minister Chandra Sarathi Behera gave away the prizes as the chief guest of the closing ceremony in presence of DGP Dr Rajendra Prasad Sharma, OTA president Asit Tripathy, secretary Madhu Sudan Padhy and Sports and Youth Services director Vineel Krishna. .
This news was added and updated on : March 3rd 2018
News Photos and Videos