News Details Back to New Home
FAO XI lift Tata-Utkalika Cup
Sportslogon Team March 8th 2018

Bhubaneswar : Football Association of Odisha (FAO) XI emerged champions in the 20th Tata-Utkalika Cup Invitation Football Tournament, winning over defending champions Tata Football Academy (TFA), Jamshedpur in the keenly contested final by 4-2 goals, via tie-breaker here at Unit-VI High School Ground on Thursday.

Tie-break rule was applied after play in the regulation time ended in goalless draw. FAO XI converted first four of their five penalty kicks through Sunil Sardar, D Srinath, Kartik Bhola and Rudra Pradhan to clinch victory, which fetched them a cash prize of Rs 25,000. The TFA side, which scored twice in the penalty shoot out through Baset Hansda and Gorachand Marndi, settled with the runners-up prize of Rs 15,000.

FAO XI goalkeeper and local lad Soumya Das, who saved two penalty kicks in the tie-breaker, was adjudged the Player of the Final Match.The prizes for the Player of the Tournament went to Gorachand Marndi of TFA. Sk Kamaluddin of Barabati Sporting and Kartik Bhola of FAO XI received the prizes as the tournament’s best goalkeeper and best defender respectively. The prizes for Best Mid-fielder and Best Forward were bagged by Md Firoz Khan (TFA) and Bijay Behera (FAO XI) respectively.

Odisha SC & ST Development Minister Ramesh Chandra Majhi graced the closing function as chief guest. Sukinda-Angul Railway Project Managing Director Dillip Kumar Samantaray, Tata Steel Chief Resident Executive Manikanta Nayak, Resident Executive Nrusingha Charan Mohapatra, FAO vice-president Bhakta Ballabh Das, Bhubaneswar Athletic Association joint-secretary Naba Ranjan Patnaik, host Unit-VI Athletic Association president Tapan Kumar Mohanty, vice-presidents Akshay Kumar Das, Prafulla Mishra, secretary Dillip Kumar Das, Choudhury Priyanath Mishra and Amiyakanta Mishra were present on the occasion.

Local Unit-VI Athletic Association players Soumya Das, Rajesh Nayak and Kartik Bhol, who are set to represent Odisha in the Santosh Trophy Final Round, were felicitated on the occasion. The match was conducted by match commissioner Sushant Mohanty, referee Raju Mohanty, Siba Shankar Panda, Rajendra Barik and Pradipta Naik. .
This news was added and updated on : March 8th 2018
News Photos and Videos