News Details Back to New Home
Rahul, Sangram win U-16 doubles trophy in AITA-OTA tennis
Sportslogon Team May 31st 2018

Bhubaneswar : Unseeded Rahul Behera partnering Sangram Kumar Patra from Odisha caused a upset in the Boy’s U-16 doubles final to became champion by winning over top seeded Odisha boy Bighnesh Nanda and D Aryan Swamy by 7-5,3-6,(10-7) in the TAB AITA-OTA Talent Series U-12 and U-16 Tennis Tournament at Kalinga Stadium here on Thursday.

Similarly, top seeded Odisha-West Bengal duo Simran Neha Ekka and Sanya Yadev claimed the girls’s U-16 doubles title by winning over West Bengal players Oindrila Sen and Taru Sai Joshi by 6-1,6-3.

While U-12 boys doubles trophy was won by top seeded Mayand Tewary and Saganik Mitra by defeating unseeded Odisha team, Lalit Tudu and Dishanta Mohanty by 6-2, 6-2.

It was the day of upset in the singles semifinal matches as all three top seeded in the Boy’s U-12, U-16 and Girl’s U-16 players suffered defeat.

Both the unseeded players of the State, Lalit Tudu and Ashish Kumar Panda pipped top seeded Sagnik Mitra and Md Arib Afzal both of West Bengal in the Boy’s U-12 and U-16 singles semifinal matches by 6-2,6-4 and 6-2,6-2 respectively.

. While in the Girl’s U-16 singles semifinal match, top seeded Sanya Yadav of Bengal suffered defeat from her State-mate Taru sai Joshi 7(4)-6, 3-6 and 4-6.

Results Doubles U-12 boy’s final:Mayand Tewary OD and Saganik Mitra (1) WB Bt Lalit Tudu and Dishanta Mohanty OD 6-2,6-2.

U-16 boy’s: Rahul Behera and Sangram Kumar Patra OD Bt Bighnesh Nanda and D Aryan Swamy (1) OD 7-5,3-6,(10-7).

U-16 Girls’s : Simran Neha Ekka OD and Sanya Yadav (1) WB Bt Oindrila Sen and Taru Sai Joshi (2) WB 6-1,6-3.

Semifinal Results: Boy’s U-12 singles; Lalit Tudu OD Bt Bibrarshi Biswas (1) WB 6-2, 6-4, Ethan Thai S Lee (8) WB Bt Farhan Akhtar (5) WB 6-3,7-5.

Boy’s U-16 singles: Ashish Ku Parida OD Bt Md Arib Afzal (1) WB 6-2,6-2, D Aryan Swamy (2) OD Bt Rounak Ghosh (4) WB 6-4,6-4,

Girls U-16 singles: Taru Sai Joshi (4) WB Bt Sanya Yadav (1) WB 6-7(4),6-3,6-4, Simran N Ekka (2) OD Bt Oindrila Sen (6) WB 6-1,6-3. .
This news was added and updated on : May 31st 2018
News Photos and Videos