News Details Back to New Home
Birendra, Amit conform place in National Hockey team
Sportslogon Team May 31st 2018

Bhubaneswar : Odia defenders Birendra lakra and Amit Rohidas named among the 18-member Indian Men’s Team which was announced by Hockey India on Thursday, the team will take part in the final edition of the prestigious Rabobank Men’s Hockey Champions Trophy Breda 2018, The Netherlands starting June 23.

The team will be led by ace goalkeeper PR Sreejesh under whose Captaincy the Indian team created history in the previous edition by clinching the Silver Medal after a tense final encounter with World No.1 Australia. It was India’s first podium finish at the Champions Trophy in 34 years.

India’s aim will be to finish on the podium to set the momentum right ahead of major International events such as the Asian Games in August and the much-awaited Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup here starting in November 28.

Indian Team: Goalkeepers; Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran (C), Krishan Bahadur Pathak, Defenders; Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar, Surender Kumar, Jarmanpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Amit Rohidas, Midfielders; Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam (Vice-Captain), Sardar Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Forwards; Sunil Sowmarpet Vitalacharya, Ramandeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Sumit Kumar (Jr.), Akashdeep Singh, Dilpreet Singh .
This news was added and updated on : May 31st 2018
News Photos and Videos