News Details Back to New Home
Odisha eves retain National rugby title
Sportslogon Team June 24th 2018

Bhubaneswar : Defending champion Odisha women retained the Senior National Rugby Sevens Championship for Men and Women title, defeating West Bengal by 22-0 at Punjab University in Chandigarh on Sunday, while the men team finished sixth.

Skipper Hupi Maji, Rajani Sabar, Bhagyalaxmi Barik and Sumitra Nayak were scored a try each in the final and the team made it a one-sided affairs. Earlier in the nail-biting semifinal match between Odisha and Maharashtra ended in 10-10 draw in the stipulated time. Both the promising star of Odisha, winger Hupi Majhi and Sumitra Nayak scored a try registered draw in the semifinal. The all important try scored by Parbati Kisku in the extra-time to ensure the final place for Odisha.
As Odisha’s men and women team were placed among the top eight teams of the nation, conformed their place for the National Games to be held at Gao, said coach Manas Kumar Jena.

Odisha Rugby Football Association president Bhubaneswar North MLA Priyadarshi Mishra and secretary Upendra Kumar Mohanty were congratulated the players and the officials. .
This news was added and updated on : June 24th 2018
News Photos and Videos

10878_Odisha rugby.jpg