News Details Back to New Home
Odisha, Manipur script back to back win in National Sub-Jr football
Sportslogon Team July 5th 2018

Bhubaneswar : Host Odisha and Manipur edged out Uttarakhand and Tamil Nadu in their respective league round matches by 6-0 and 6-2 goals respectively to notch their second wins in a row of the Sub Junior Girl’s National Football Championships at Cuttack on Thursday.

Rode on a double strike by Jyoti Kumari guided Odisha to into the quarterfinal rounds. Odisha got the lead against Uttarakhand in the sixth minutes of the game through a goal by Malati Munda. Joyti came into action by nailing back to back two goals in the 17th and 18th minutes. Manisha naik was joined the flow by netting a goal in the 22nd minutes and the first half score board tread as 4-0 in favor of Odisha.

After the change of sides, Barsha Mahakudu and Sasmita Amanga scored a goal each in the 56th and 79th minutes respectively to sealed the match for 6-0.

In another match of the day, a four goals haul by Naorem Priyangka Devi guided Manipur into the quarterfinals by eliminating Tamil Nadu by 6-2 goals.

Naorem opened the account for Manipur in the fourth minutes, however Tamil Nadu scored the equalsier in the Monisha D in the 20th minutes and the first half score read as 1-1.

After the lemon breaks, Manipur team was bounced back in style with Naorem scored three goals in the 53rd, 55th and 77th minutes, while Hemam Shilky Devci and Lhingneilam Kipgen were contributed a goal each for Manipur in the 58th and 76th minutes respectively.Tamil Nadu was never got the chance to made the come back in the second half, but Mariyammal B was scored a solitary goal for Tamil Nadu in the second 64th minutes to reduce the winning margin.

Despite the four goal haul by Anya Goyal, the Delhi team suffered defeat from Goa 4-5 goals, all credit goes to Goa scorer Valanky D’souza, who nailed the winning goal in the 90th minutes.

Delhi’s lone fighter Anya was scored in the 38th,47th,75th and 80th minutes. The combined scoring by Daisy Lisa Crasto (2nd ), Keran Estrocio (8th,11th), Sujata Nagraj Shetty (29th) and Valanky D’souza (90th) were ensure victory for Goa. .
This news was added and updated on : July 5th 2018
News Photos and Videos