News Details Back to New Home
Three Odia players in national hockey camp for Asian Games
Sportslogon Team July 31st 2018

Bhubaneswar : Ahead of the all-important 18th Asian Games Jakarta-Palembang 2018, Hockey India on Tuesday announced a 25 member core group which included three Odia players

The players will report for the preparatory National Camp on August 1 at the Sports Authority of India (SAI), Bengaluru Campus. Odia defenders Birendra Lakra, Amit Rohidas and forward Silananda Lakra are named in the campers list.

After a hectic 21 days in camp where the National Campers played back-to-back matches with Bangladesh, South Korea and New Zealand as part of their preparations for the upcoming tournament, the Core Group of players were given a much-needed break to recover and return fresh for the camp which concludes on 11 August 2018. For the 18th Asian Games, the Indian Men's Team are grouped in Pool A along with South Korea, Japan, Sri Lanka, Hong Kong China and Indonesia. The camp is more vital before heading for the most important Asian Games where India want to seal the Olympic Qualification by winning Gold. The Chief Coach is confident of his team's prospects at the quadrennial event which will be a stepping stone towards the season's grand finale at the Odisha Hockey Men's World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018 starting in November.

"We are confident the team will take to the training sessions with high energy and they are aware that a successful Asian Games will be the right stepping stone for the season's most-awaited Odisha Hockey Men's World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018," Harendra Singh said.

Campers list: Goalkeepers : PR Sreejesh, Krishan B Pathak, Suraj Karkera, Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar, Birendra Lakra, Surender Kumar, Rupinder Pal Singh, Amit Rohidas, Kothajit Singh Khadangbam, Jarmanpreet Singh, Midfielders; Manpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Simranjeet Singh, Sardar Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Nilakanta Sharma, Sumit, Forwards; S V Sunil, Mandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Dilpreet Singh, Sumit Kumar, Shilanand Lakra. .
This news was added and updated on : July 31st 2018
News Photos and Videos