News Details Back to New Home
CM announces Rs 1 crore each for Odia women hockey players
Sportslogon Team September 1st 2018

Bhubaneswar : Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik congratulated the Indian Women Hockey team for their medal winning performance in the Asian Games 2018 in Jakarta. The team suffered defeat in the final against Japan by 1-2 on Friday.

In recognition of the achievments of the players from Odisha in the Indian women’s hockey team CM announced a cash award of Rs 1 crore each to Sunita Lakra, Namita Toppo, Lilima Minz and Deep Grace Ekka as per the revised policy.

Odisha surprised the nation becoming the only State of the country to sponsor Indian national hockey team. The State has played a bigger role to promoted hockey in different platform.

In the past Odisha Government had host Champions Trophy, Hockey World Final League and also owned Kalinga Lancers a professional HIL team.

The State is also going to host the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup 2018 to be held at Kalinga Stadium from November 28. As per the revised policy coach of the medal winning team will get an award equivalent to twenty percent of the rewards of the Asian Games medal winners. .
This news was added and updated on : September 4th 2018
News Photos and Videos
110490_Odia hockey players.jpg