News Details Back to New Home
Odisha beat Saurashtra in Vijay Hazare Trophy
Sportslogon Team October 4th 2018

Bhubaneswar : The all-round performance by captain Govinda Poddar guided Odisha team to win over Saurashtra by 52 runs in their Vijay Hazare Trophy Elite Group-B match at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium in Delhi on Thursday.

This is the second win in seven matches for Odisha, who now have 10 points by registering two win, a draw and suffered four defeats. In their last encounter they will meet Hyderabad on October 6.

Batting first, Odisha got a shaky start as they lost their openers at the score of 11 runs and bowled out for 197 in 49.2 overs. The 57 runs third wicket partnerships between Poddar and Santanu Mishra (31) was made a platform for the team.

Experienced Biplab Samantaray was contributed 79-ball 62 runs which studded with three boundaries and two sixes. In the process Biplab and Abhishek Rout (36) stitched 91 runs for the fifth wickets.

Jaydev Unadkat was the most successful bowlers of Saurashtra by picking three wickets, while D A Jadeja and Chudasama Yuvraj were pocked two wickets each.

In reply, Saurashtra was bundle out for 145 in 38.4 overs. After the departure of opener Rabin Uthappa (7), Sheldon Jackson (40) and Samarth Vyas (19) created a hope for the team by stitching 57 runs partnership for the second wicket.

Odisha skipper Govinda Poddar and Pappu Ray was bagged three and two wickets respectively and restricted Saurashtra for 145.

Brief Score: Odisha 197/10 in 49.2 overs (Govinda Poddar 33, Santanu Mishra 31, Biplab Samantaray 62, Abhishek Rout 36; Jaydev Unadkat 3/39, D A Jadeja 2/45, Chudasama Yuvraj 2/20) beat Saurashtra 145/10 in 38.4 overs (Sheldon JacksonĀ 40, A V Vasavada 35; Govinda Poddar 3/33, Pappu Ray 2/19) by 52 runs. .
This news was added and updated on : October 4th 2018
News Photos and Videos