News Details Back to New Home
Dhanraj XI to meet Dilip XI to mark Kalinga Stadium inauguration
Sportslogon Team October 3rd 2018

Bhubaneswar : An exhibition match between hockey legends Dhanraj Pillay-XI and Dilip Tirkey-XI will be held to mark the inauguration of the renovated Kalinga Stadium here on October 10. The teams comprises of past and present players of the national team

Familiar faces include PR Sreejesh, Manpreet Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, former captain Sardar Singh, Viren Rasquinha, and Deepak Thakur among others. The match will showcase the newly-refurbished Kalinga Stadium that plays host to the Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup Bhubaneswar 2018 beginning November 28th.

“With an aim to provide best of the sports infrastructures, the Odisha state government remodelled Kalinga stadium into an international sports complex providing facilities for all kinds of sports and games, said Sports and Youth Services secretary Vishal Dev.

“Odisha Government is breathing new life into hockey and I thank them for such initiatives. This is a landmark event in Indian Hockey; an exhibition match with legends of the game and Team India. I do hope that we are able to entertain the capacity crowd that will be at the Kalinga Stadium along with every hockey fan sitting at home and watching us.” Dhanraj Pillay said

“There is no better way to portray the glory of Odisha and Kalinga Stadium than getting the past and present of hockey together by the way of this iconic match. I am really excited about the face off against Dhanraj and team, and my team and I look forward to giving the fans a good game.” said Dilip Tirkey.

Team Dhanraj Pillay: Dhanraj Pillay (Captain), PR Sreejesh (GK), Viren Rasquinha, Sardar Singh, Prabhjyot Singh, Sandeep Singh, Varun Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh, Gurinder Singh, Kothajit Singh , Jarmanpreet Singh, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Simranjeet Singh, Hardik Singh, S V Sunil, Gurjant Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Pradeep Singh; Coach: Harendra Singh.

Team Dilip Tirkey: Dilip Tirkey (Captain), Krishan Bahadur Pathak (GK), Ignance Tirkey, VR Raghunath, Deepak Thakur, Manpreet Singh, Dipsan Tirkey, Rupinder Pal Singh, Suraj Karkera, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Sumit, Nilakanta Sharma, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Sumit Kumar; Coach: Chris Ciriello. .
This news was added and updated on : October 3rd 2018
News Photos and Videos