News Details Back to New Home
6 overseas teams reach to join Asia Rugby 7s U-18 girls meet
Sportslogon Team October 24th 2018

Bhubaneswar : Rugby fever is gripping up in the city as six overseas teams, China, UAE, Laos, Qatar, Hong Kong and Philippines are reached here to participate in the Asia Rugby Sevens U-18 Girls Championship schedule to be held at Kalinga Stadium here from October 26 to 28.

Ahead of Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup, the State Government is all set to host the international Rugby event. This will be the first ever International age grade rugby tournament to be hosted in India.

This annual event is being organized for the 3rd consecutive year with the previous two editions being held in Dubai, UAE. The 3-day action packed event will feature a total of 12 countries from across Asia competing for top honors.

The Rugby India on Wednesday announced a 12-member team, Sumitra Nayak, Soni Mandangi, Jemamani Naik, Lija Sardar and Parbati Kisku are the five Odisha rugby player conformed their names in the India U-18 girls team. The team has been selected after a month long national camp held at KIIT University here. Sandhya Rai will lead the team as captain, while Odia girl Sumitra Nayak will shoulder the responsibility of vice-captain.

After arriving here the title favorite China, UAE and Qatar teams were spend quality time in the Kalinga Stadium ground to acclimatise themself with the climate condition.

India Girls U-18 Team: Sandhya Rai, Rushmita Oraon, Asha Araon, Sweety Kumari, Sumitra Nayak, Soni Mandangi, Jemamani Naik, Lija Sardar, Parbati Kisku, Priya, Anitha, Rutuja Kirdat .
This news was added and updated on : October 24th 2018
News Photos and Videos