News Details Back to New Home
106 to fight for East Zone Open Snooker titles
Sportslogon Team November 21st 2018

Bhubaneswar : Day by day the Cue Sports is getting papular in the State as highest number of 106 cueist registered their names in the 8th MIET Open East Zone Snooker Championship, which kicks started at the Vintage Club here on Wednesday.

The History has been made with the highest numbers of entries registration of 106 players out of which seven players have come from neighboring States like Bihar, Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh. Subrat Das is the defending champion whereas Siddharth Sen was the runner up of 7th MIET held last year in 2017. Almost all the seeded players are participating in the event expect a few who are outstation for some reasons.

The champion and runner up will get cash award of Rs 30,000 and 16,000 respectively, while losings semifinalists and quarterfinalists will receive Rs 8,000 and 4000 respectively. The players will reach the top 32 will get Rs 1,000 each and losing ore-quarterfinalists to get Rs 2000 cash award.

The Billiards and Snooker Association of Odisha secretary Srimoy Kar graced the championship and inaugurated the event along with tournament Co-ordinator Govind Sharma and owner of Vintage Club Amiya Ranjan Nayak.

Day-1 results: Jagdish Mohanty bt T Shantanu Kanhar (2-0), Gyana Das bt Padmasan Nayak (2-1), Rishab Golecha got w/o Pranab Mohanty; Snehanshu Saha bt T V Nitesh Patro (2-1), Arman Ul Haque bt Harsh Lamba (2-1), Rahul Hali bt Prakash Sahoo (2-1), Adarsh Patnaik got w/o Shivam Nag, Rakesh Mohanty bt Sk Nasimuddin (2-0), Soubhagya Behera bt GouriSankar Biswal (2-0), Biswajit Sahoo got w/o Rohit Sharma; .
This news was added and updated on : November 21st 2018
News Photos and Videos