News Details Back to New Home
Ansu, Bhargavi win Nalco open tennis titles
Sportslogon Team December 25th 2018

Bhubaneswar : Ansu Kumar Bhuyan and Bhargavi Kalaga emerged champion in the men’s and women’s singles event respectively in the three-day 20th All Odisha Nalco Open Tennis Tournament, which concluded at Kalinga Stadium here on Tuesday.

Ansu edged out defending champion Kabir Hans 6-4 as Kabir quit the final match due to injury, Ansu bagged his fifth Nalco open title in the men’s singles event, while Bhargavi win over Ameeka Kiran Battha 6-0,0-6,6-4 to clinch the women’s trophy.

Earlier, before facing the injury, Kabir partnering Ajay Nishank won the men’s open doubles trophy by winning over Ansu and Satirtha Patnaik by 7-6(3) 3-6 10-4.

Similarly, Debasish Sahoo, Abhisek Mohapatra and Dikshya Rout were defeated Samprit Sarma, Ashish Parida and Archita Sahu in the final of the boy’s U-12, U-16 and girl’s U-14 category respectively and won the age group titles.

In the veteran 40 above final, Vivek Tibrewal and Prasant Patra duo defeated Saswat Jena and Himadri Kanungo by 6-3 3-6 10-6, while JH Choi and Saroj Kumar Das Majumder team defeated B N Mohanty and Ajay Kumar Sahu to win the veteran 50 above trophy.

National Aluminium Company Limited (Nalco) the Odisha based Public Sector Unit is always extending its support to the sports and sportsperson of the State in a bigger way. As like the previous year, Nalco will support to the BDTA for hosting the tournament and suggesting them to increase the cash awards in coming days, said Nalco CMP Tapan Kumar Chand.

Chand gave away the prizes as the chief guest of the closing ceremony in presence of BDTA President Suresh Chandra Mohapatra, Secretary Saswat Mishra, Vice President Sanjib Marik, Joint Secretary R Viswanath, Kalinga Tennis Club secretary Dr Saroj Kumar Das Majumdar and members of (BDTA).

Singles final results: Boy’s U-12; Debasish Sahoo bt Samprit Sarma 6-4,6-2, Boy’s U-16; Abhisek Mohapatra bt Ashish Parida 6-1,6-4, Girls U-14; Dikshya Rout bt Archita Sahu 6-0,6-0 ,Mens ; Ansu Kumar Bhuyan bt Kabir Hans 6-4 Retd.Womwn’s; Bhargavi Kalaga bt Ameek Kiran Batth 6-0 0-6 6-4,

Doubles final results; Mens; Ajay Nishank and Kabir Hans bt Ansu Kumar Bhuyan and Satirtha Patnaik 7-6(3) 3-6 10-4, Veteran 40 above; Vivek Tibrewal and Prasant Patra bt Saswat Jena and Himadri Kanungo 6-3 3-6 10-6, Veteran 50 above; JH Choi and Saroj Kumar Das Majumder bt B N Mohanty and Ajay Kumar Sahu 8-6, Veteran 60 above; J Ganta and Pramod Kumar Patnaik bt Gyana Ranjan Das and Jugananda Patnaik 8-4 .
This news was added and updated on : December 25th 2018
News Photos and Videos
11359_Nalco Cup tennis.jpg

11359_Bhargavi Kalaga.jpg