News Details Back to New Home
National cities team chess begins
Sportslogon Team August 6th 2017

Bhubaneswar : The 18th National Cities Team Chess Championship inaugurated at Smart Village Kalarabank in Jagatsinghpur on Sunday. This tournament is jointly organized by KIIT University and Jagatsinghpur District Chess Association.

More than 150 players from 30 cities teams including Odisha, Haryana, West Bengal, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Telengana are participating in the seven tournament which will concluded on August 9.

There are 16 teams from the host State taking part , while four each from West Bengal and Bihar, one each from Punjab, Haryana, Tamil Nadu, Telengana, Assam are in the race. Top four teams will be selected to join the Asian Cities Chess Championship to be held at KIIT from August 26 to September 1. Odisha’s star player Swanshu Mishra, Aparajita Gochhikar, Saina Salonika and Kiran Manisha Mohanty are the Odisha players will fight for the top honour.

Women and Child Development, Social Security and Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities and MSME minister Prafulla Samal inaugurated the meet. In presence of Additional secretary BN Nanda, Jagatsinghpur collector Yamini Sarangi, KIIT and KISS Founder Achyuta Samanta, AOCA president Sekhar Sahu, secretary KK Sharma and Antarymi Samanta. .
This news was added and updated on : August 6th 2017
News Photos and Videos