News Details Back to New Home
AG Odisha win team title in East Zone Carrom
Sportslogon Team August 10th 2017

Bhubaneswar : The Host AG Odisha team bagged the team title by defeating AG Bihar Patna in the second day of their three-day IA and AD East Zone Carrom Tournament at AG Office here on Thursday.

Five members Odisha team comprise of SP Mohanty, Gyana Chandra, PK Maharana, Raju Kumar and a stand-by player. They played two singles and a double match in the team event.

Local player SP Mohanty defeated Pankaj Priyadarshi of Patna by 25-4,21-19 in the singles event, while Gyana and Maharan won the doubles event against Patna duo Bijay Ray and raj Kumar by 16-3,25-4. Odisha bagged the team trophy by winning a single and a doubles match. Rinky Rayant of Jharkhand will meet Kavita Rani in the women’s single final, while Abul Hasnat of West Bengal-A will face Partha Banerjee of West Bengal-B in the veteran singles final on the concluding day on Friday.

Altogether 41 players including eight women and four veteran players are taking part in the singles and team events.

International referee Kashi Ram was conducting the meet as chief referee and jointly supported by V Ratna Babu and Shakil. A 10-member Odisha referees team aws led by Sunil Pattnaik, informed Senior AO Welfare Gagan Chandra Behera.

Results: Team Final; AG Odisha bt AG Bihar Patna 2-1.

Semifinal results: Women Singles; Rinky Rayant (Jharkhand) bt Raj Laxmi (WB-A) by 25-0,25-0, Kavitha Rani (Bihar) bt Madhabi Biswas (WB-B) by 25-4, 22-15.

Veteran Singles; Abul Hasnat (WB-A) bt Debasis Ray (Patna) 25-12,21-16, Partha Banerjee (WB-B) bt Dukhishyama Sahu (Odisha) 25-8,21-16. .
This news was added and updated on : August 10th 2017
News Photos and Videos