News Details Back to New Home
Preet, Sarat to get Saroj Mahasuara award
Sportslogon Team September 1st 2017

Bhubaneswar : Preet Kanwar Singh Chohan and Sarat Chandra Sahoo have been selected to receive the Saroj Mahasuara Smurti Sanman as upcoming cricketer and outstanding umpier of year 2017 respectively.

The awards will be conferred on the occasion of 15th death anniversary of umpier Saroj Mahasuara in a function at Town Hall Ground on September 6, Saroj who passed awary in a tragic road accident while returning home conducting a match at Cuttack.

Young pace bowler Preet was made his debut in Odisha cricket in U-19 cricket in the year 2015, He ended the 2016-17 season as the top three bowlers of the country by pocketing 27 wickets from five matches in Cooch Bihar trophy.

Former all-rounder cricketer of the State, Sarat Chandra Sahoo started his second innings as umpier in the year 2002. He has the honour of officiating 100 national and many State level matches, he become the BCCI panel umpier in 2011. He will be ninth official to bag the outstanding umpier award. .
This news was added and updated on : September 1st 2017
News Photos and Videos