News Details Back to New Home
Bureaucrat XI win Friendship Cup Football
Sportslogon Team September 9th 2017

Bhubaneswar : Bureaucrat XI emerged champion of the 11th edition of Tata Steel Friendship Cup Football Tournament, defeating Tata Steel XI at Kalinga Stadium here on Saturday. Sports and Youth Services Minister Chandra Sarathi Behera inaugurated the meet.

The final match ended in goalless draw in the stipulated time, Bureaucrat XI edged out Tata Steel by 5-3 goals vie through penalty shoot out.

The fist semifinal match between Bureaucrat XI and Leaders XI ended in 1-1 goal draw. Bureaucrat team got the lead through a goal by SD Durga, however MLA Arun Sahu leveled the score,Bureaucrat XI won the match by 3-1 through tie-breaker.

In the second semifinal match, after the barren first half,Mohan Singh Gagrai scored the all important goal and guided Tata Steel XI to win over Media XI by 1-0 goal.

Bibhuti Biswal of Media XI was awarded as the best defence, Aditya Thakur of Tata Steel XI as best half, Arun Sahoo of Leaders XI as best forward, Amitab Thakur, JD Pati and Suresh Mahapatra of Bureaucrat XI received the best goalkeeper, promising player and fair player awards respectively.

Similarly, man of the match award for the first, second and final match was given to S.D Durga of Bureaucrat XI, Mohan Singh Gagrai, Tata Steel XI and Pradeep of Bureaucrat XI respectively.

R. Balakrishnan, Development Commissioner, Government of Odisha, Arun Sahu, MLA, Nayagarh, Resident Editor, Business Standard, Dillip Satapathy and Bureau Chief of The Statesman K. Ravi, Sunil Bhaskaran, Vice President, Corporate Services, Tata Steel, Arun Misra, Vice President, Project Gopalpur and MD, Tata Steel SEZ, distributed prizes to both the champion and runners up teams. .
This news was added and updated on : September 9th 2017
News Photos and Videos